VPN Server - Is it necessary? Or Client is enough.

Post your questions about VPN Gate Academic Experiment Service here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
m2840

VPN Server - Is it necessary? Or Client is enough.

Post by m2840 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:28 pm

Hi,

I am new in this. Maybe somebody can help me. I am interested in providing a VPN Relay Server to VPN Gate users. Is it strictly necessary to install the SoftEther VPN Server, or is it sufficient to install the SoftEther VPN Client + VPN Gate Client Plug-in?

In the section "How to Provide Your Computer as a VPN Server for VPN Gate" it says: "After you activate the VPN Gate Service, anyone can connect a VPN connection to your computer, and access to any hosts on the Internet via your computer. VPN Client has also a tiny VPN Gate Service and it is equivalence [equivalent?] if you activate it manually." So, it looks like the Client is enough. Am I right?

I have installed Client and Server and "Enable the VPN Gate Relay Service and Join the VPN Gate Research as a Volunteer" in both of them. But it seems that there is some conflict, because the Dynamic DNS Function initially assigns hostname, IPv4 and IPv6 addresses, and then drops the IP's with an error message (in IPv4 it says something like: there was an error in the protocol).

Regards,
Rui Ferreira

Pandora-Box

Re: VPN Server - Is it necessary? Or Client is enough.

Post by Pandora-Box » Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:05 pm

Hi m2840,
I am not an expert, however I did some research regarding this issue you try to resolve.
It appears that vpn client is sufficient enough to run small built-in in it server as a vpngate, but once you enable it, it seems to loose vpn client function, at least I could not connect to any other vpngate server, once my client was running in a vpngate server mode (client mode change: http://www.vpngate.net/en/join_client.aspx).