SoftEther on Windows Server - Static IP?

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
vix
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 5:38 pm

SoftEther on Windows Server - Static IP?

Post by vix » Sat Feb 28, 2015 5:41 pm

Hi, I have a dedicated server that I'm renting with about 20 different ip addresses on it, I want to install SoftEther on it and assign each one of my customers a different ip address (dedicated ip) how would I do this

I'm running windows server 2008 is there an easy guide I can follow, I'm not very tech savvy can someone link me please and how do I assign a customer a specific ip? Thanks for your help!

vix
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 5:38 pm

Re: SoftEther on Windows Server - Static IP?

Post by vix » Sun Mar 01, 2015 7:44 pm

So I see this is the guide to install on windows

https://www.softether.org/4-docs/1-manu ... igurations


Looks simple enough but how do i assign a static ip to each customer?

vix
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 5:38 pm

Re: SoftEther on Windows Server - Static IP?

Post by vix » Tue Mar 03, 2015 7:11 am

anyone know?

vix
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 5:38 pm

Re: SoftEther on Windows Server - Static IP?

Post by vix » Sun Mar 08, 2015 7:12 am

would really appreciate any advice

thisjun
Posts: 2090
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: SoftEther on Windows Server - Static IP?

Post by thisjun » Thu Mar 19, 2015 6:40 am

Do your ISP restrict access by MAC address?

kosztyua
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:49 pm

Re: SoftEther on Windows Server - Static IP?

Post by kosztyua » Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:43 am

I solved this by setting the IP manually on the client, and limiting the ability to only use that IP with the specific user. Still looking for a better solution.
Other solution may be setting up DHCP server and giving static assignment to the MAC addresses.

PacoBell
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 11:45 pm

Re: SoftEther on Windows Server - Static IP?

Post by PacoBell » Wed Mar 25, 2015 2:48 am

Doesn't SoftEther server come with a virtual DHCP server?

https://www.softether.org/index.php?tit ... HCP_Server

kosztyua
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:49 pm

Re: SoftEther on Windows Server - Static IP?

Post by kosztyua » Wed Mar 25, 2015 9:31 am

It does, but no static IP assignment function.

vix
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 5:38 pm

Re: SoftEther on Windows Server - Static IP?

Post by vix » Thu Apr 23, 2015 3:12 am

kosztyua wrote:
> It does, but no static IP assignment function.

oh wow wish it had that, would make it so much easier

qupfer
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:07 pm

Re: SoftEther on Windows Server - Static IP?

Post by qupfer » Thu Apr 23, 2015 9:04 pm

vix wrote:

> oh wow wish it had that, would make it so much easier

SoftEther is a "Layer2" VPN, so its just a virtual "cable". IPs and so on are not Part of the VPN. Just some additional "compfort" function for the software.
So the best way is to useSoftEther vpn just like a "cable" and do all other stuff with optimized software.
In your case, use Windows-DHCP-Server.

thisjun
Posts: 2090
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: SoftEther on Windows Server - Static IP?

Post by thisjun » Tue Oct 11, 2016 7:15 am

Access list can limit IP address for each user.

Post Reply