Problem to access remote server

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
amiryahav
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:08 pm

Problem to access remote server

Post by amiryahav » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:21 pm

Hi,
I am using the windows 10 vpn connection to connect to my SoftEther vpn server in my office.
The vpn connection is o.k but I could not access any server in my office when the local network (192.168.1.x) is the same
as remote network in the office (also 192.168.1.x).
Please advice what should I need to change in the vpn client pc or SoftEther server in the office in order to access remote server.
Changing the remote network (192.168.1.x in the office) is not possible.

Thanks
Amir

centeredki69
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: Problem to access remote server

Post by centeredki69 » Wed Jul 25, 2018 8:58 pm

Did you create the "local bridge" on the SoftEther vpn server ( at the office)?

amiryahav
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:08 pm

Re: Problem to access remote server

Post by amiryahav » Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:19 pm

No, Please explain if I need any special setting for local bridge and how could it help.
Thanks
Amir


amiryahav
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:08 pm

Re: Problem to access remote server

Post by amiryahav » Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:55 am

Thanks, I will check it out.

amiryahav
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:08 pm

Re: Problem to access remote server

Post by amiryahav » Thu Jul 26, 2018 11:37 am

On windows it's working fine now but My iphone and mac os x has the same problem, could not access remote server .
Please advice.
Thanks
Amir

centeredki69
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: Problem to access remote server

Post by centeredki69 » Sat Jul 28, 2018 1:23 pm

@ amiryahav

Can the iphone and MAC OS connect to the VPN and get an ip address?

amiryahav
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:08 pm

Re: Problem to access remote server

Post by amiryahav » Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:33 am

Yes, I got the dhcp ip when access the vpn .

The network look like this:

office net - 192.168.1.0/24
router office ip - 192.168.1.1
vpn server exist on vlan in the office
vpn server ip - 192.168.80.2
vpn dhcp - 192.168.80.10-100

client home router switch 192.168.1.1
when windows connect to vpn there is no problem to access internal resource on 192.168.1.0/24

but,
when Mac/Ios connect from client network that is NOT 192.168.1.0 there isn't any problem but
when Mac/IOS connect to client network 192.168.1.0 there is no problem to access the vpn and I got ip 192.168.80.10 from the dhcp
but it's impossible to access 192.168.1.0 resource on the office.

Amir

centeredki69
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: Problem to access remote server

Post by centeredki69 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 7:49 pm

Is there a specific reason you are using a VLAN?
Any shared resources you would like the client to have access to at the office will need to be on the same subnet/ipaddress range as the VPNs "local Bridge".
Meaning you will need to put the VPN on the 192.168.1.0/24 along with the shared devices, or you will need to put the shared devices on the 192.168.80.0/24. Otherwise you would need to set up some kind of static routes at the office so the 192.168.1.0/24 and the 192.168.80.0/24 networks can communicate

I would set my home ip address range to something different then the range at the office. ( however I don't think this is necessary)

thisjun
Posts: 2247
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: Problem to access remote server

Post by thisjun » Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:13 am

Routing with the same IP range LAN is possible with NAT router with special configuration.
However, it's impossible by only SoftEther VPN configuration.

Post Reply