SOLVED: softether on mipsel router A5V11

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
sky59
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

SOLVED: softether on mipsel router A5V11

Post by sky59 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:10 am

after spending half of my life I finally compiled and installed version v4.25 rtm (what the rtm means?) on small router with 4MB/32MB memory with support of 500MB extroot + 200MB swap

I spent so much effort because existing version v4.21 available on internet behaves in the same way !? :(

I attache some screenshots at the very first run after installation, all shots starting with numbers

The last shows situation after reboot, password lost, and it offers just this option, no cahnce make a server out of it :(

Can anybody who knows a little about this softether have a look if everything is OK? Why I experience this problems?

Thank you for your time!
_1_first_run.png
_2.png
_3.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by sky59 on Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sky59
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: softether on mipsel router A5V11

Post by sky59 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:11 am

_4.png
_5.png
_6.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

sky59
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: softether on mipsel router A5V11

Post by sky59 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:11 am

_7.png
_8.png
_9.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

sky59
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: softether on mipsel router A5V11

Post by sky59 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:12 am

_10.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

sky59
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: softether on mipsel router A5V11

Post by sky59 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:12 am

THIS LAST ONE IS AFTER RESET AND RECONNECTION WITH MANAGER
***********************************************************************************
_after_reboot.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

sky59
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: softether on mipsel router A5V11

Post by sky59 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:17 am

after reset it is not possible anymore to change this settings
also the password is always missing after reset

both v4.21 and my v4.25 suffer the same problem.... (if it is a problem)

sky59
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: softether on mipsel router A5V11

Post by sky59 » Sat Sep 22, 2018 7:31 am

I am desperate....

It offers after reset only possibility shown on last screenshot.
Does it mean it is server already OR it wants to be configured as bridge????

Please help me tonunderstand.
Why are other options greyed out?

sky59
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: softether on mipsel router A5V11

Post by sky59 » Sat Sep 22, 2018 7:38 am

can i have two of these bridges on two different locations?

does one of them have to be a server?

how to make a server????? itvis not offered any more????

thisjun
Posts: 2200
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: softether on mipsel router A5V11

Post by thisjun » Wed Oct 17, 2018 6:52 am

I think you run SoftEther VPN Bridge.
Please try SoftEther VPN Server.

sky59
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: SOLVED: softether on mipsel router A5V11

Post by sky59 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:03 pm

PROBLEM WAS THIS:

the ipk package (wrongly created by author causing also my personal confusion) always started all three: server, bridge and client

then I found on SE page you need to run only ONE!

BUT:

when doing tests I found out you can run at the same time server and bridge ...

the only drawback is that windows server manager always connects to bridge, so if you want to connect to server temporarily stop bridge, connect,
and the restart bridge

the same other way round, you want to connect to bridge, stop server, connect, restart server

the reason is the windows server manager connects to "something", and if it is running both server and bridge it prefers bridge for some reason

thisjun
Posts: 2200
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: SOLVED: softether on mipsel router A5V11

Post by thisjun » Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:30 am

As the default, SoftEther VPN Server and Bridge listen to same ports.
So, SoftEther VPN Manager can't access to both at the same time.
If you change the listen port, you can access to both.

SoftEther VPN Bridge is the subset of SoftEther VPN Server.
So, I have no idea why you use both at the same time.

Post Reply