Issue on site to site

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
yannoo
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 8:16 am

Issue on site to site

Post by yannoo » Mon Nov 12, 2018 8:32 am

Hi

i would need a little help on a topic please guys.

i created a site to multi-site architecture, and looks like connections are up, but it is not possible to communicate between networks.
configuration is like this:
Site A, main : 1 vpn server, 1 local bridge to the local network, connected to hub0.
hub1 with local bridge on the public ip address of the vpn server
hub2 with local bridge on the public ip address
1 virtual switch, with 3 interfaces : 192.168.1.254 connected to hub1, 192.168.2.254 connected to hub2, 10.102.x.y connected to hub0

Site 1: 1 bridge server with local bridge to physical nic, and cascade to hub1 on vpn server
the bridge server is on a local LAN, and the modem/router of this lan, got a static route to 10.102.0.0 via 192.168.1.109( bridge server address ): so the clients going on internet can still go, but if they need access to 10.102.0.0, they are redirected to the vpn server.

from the server manager, i can check that the cascade connection is up and running, and i can get the list of IPs and MACs on the LAN site1.
but i cant ping or telnet from site1 to siteA neither the opposite .
i got a web server on the siteA, with static route to 192.168.1.0 via the local address of the vpn server 10.102.x.x

all firewall are disabled, all boxes are linux.

any ideas ?
thanks a lot in advance
Yann

sky59
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: Issue on site to site

Post by sky59 » Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:08 am

I think the advice is easy: First thing first

I tried to read your text few times but I am not going to make a drawing...

I suggest, make first the simplest possible configuration and if it works continue to expand

For instance: 1 vpnserver with local bridge to eth0 - connect PC to eth0
1 vpnbridge with local bridge to eth0 - connect some device that responds to ping

try to ping "some device" from PC, if it works continue to expand...

yannoo
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 8:16 am

Re: Issue on site to site

Post by yannoo » Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:27 pm

Hi Sky59,
thanks for quick reply.
i followed your advice, and started over from scratch.
1 device in each subnet, 1 bridge per lan, but no ping from PC to "some device".
any route to setup on any machine ?

sky59
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: Issue on site to site

Post by sky59 » Mon Nov 12, 2018 2:14 pm

can you see "cascade connection" in manager session window? I had a problem when my serber was not on public IP, it must be on public IP
softether server even got vpn8723824.softether.net for DDNS but it was not working

other problem I had was with local bridging, I do not know how to affect this but on some devices I have local bridge directly to eth0, on other devices the vpnserver/bridge creates tunel device that must be bridged with real eth0, if you have linux system check with "ifconfig -a" if there is not any "tunl0" device? if yes you have to bridge it with eth0

thisjun
Posts: 2247
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: Issue on site to site

Post by thisjun » Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:00 am

Could you draw your network configuration?

All sites need a routing configuration.

Please configure a route to IP address of the virtual interface of the virtual L3 switch.

Post Reply