VLAN ID missing for local bridge on Ubuntu

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
sky59
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

VLAN ID missing for local bridge on Ubuntu

Post by sky59 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:50 am

I have running vpnserver and vpnbridge, site-to-site on Ubuntu.

The vpnbridge correctly connects to vpnserver having Cascade connection. This Cascade session has got VLAN ID "1".

Problem is that my local bridge does not get any VLAN ID and remains "-".

Does anybody know where the problem could be? It must be Ubuntu problem as on OrangePiZero and A5V11 I get VLAN ID also for local bridge
without problem, it is the same "1" as for as for Cascade VLAN ID.

sky59
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: VLAN ID missing for local bridge on Ubuntu

Post by sky59 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:58 am

I found this thread that seems to describe the same problem

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4878&p=12439&hilit=vlan+id#p12439

But i do not understand where i should create another HUB?
It seems user "thisjun" knows a lot about SE,,, would be nice if he can explain

I have on vpnserver VPN hub, can i create also second hub? No idea how to cascade this second hub to VPN hub locally?
how this overcomes problem with missing VLAN ID?

thisjun
Posts: 2247
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: VLAN ID missing for local bridge on Ubuntu

Post by thisjun » Thu Oct 25, 2018 5:32 am

You can create a second virtual hub on the VPN server.
Please enter 'localhost' for destination hostname in cascade setting.

Post Reply