Can't connect to server

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
MastaChief11
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:04 pm

Can't connect to server

Post by MastaChief11 » Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:07 pm

Whenever I try to connect to the server in my house, it always prompts me to retype my username and password. How can I find what these have been set to?

kh_tsang
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 12:09 pm

Re: Can't connect to server

Post by kh_tsang » Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:14 am

try to remove and reinatall the server

MastaChief11
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:04 pm

Re: Can't connect to server

Post by MastaChief11 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:52 pm

kh_tsang wrote:
> try to remove and reinatall the server

I still can't connect to the server even after reinstalling. The server is running in Virtual HUB Admin Mode. When I try to connect, I always get this message:

http://imgur.com/0ScOUz6

How do I know what it wants for the username and password?

naba78
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:53 pm
Location: nara, ja

Re: Can't connect to server

Post by naba78 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 1:43 pm

SoftEther VPN Server can have and run plural Virtual HUBs. All vpnservers has a VirtualHUB called "DEFAULT" first.

The vpnclient connect to a Virtual HUB running at vpnserver (such as: 'DEFAULT'). You need to set your username and password for the Virtual HUB, and to set your username, password and the Virtual HUB name for vnpclient.

> The server is running in Virtual HUB Admin Mode.
The server manager for vpnserver supports two operation modes (called Virtual HUB admin mode and Server admin mode), but those modes are unrelated to connect vpnclient to vpnserver.

MastaChief11
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:04 pm

Re: Can't connect to server

Post by MastaChief11 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:42 pm

naba78 wrote:
> SoftEther VPN Server can have and run plural Virtual HUBs. All vpnservers has a
> VirtualHUB called "DEFAULT" first.
>
> The vpnclient connect to a Virtual HUB running at vpnserver (such as: 'DEFAULT'). You
> need to set your username and password for the Virtual HUB, and to set your username,
> password and the Virtual HUB name for vnpclient.
>
> > The server is running in Virtual HUB Admin Mode.
> The server manager for vpnserver supports two operation modes (called Virtual HUB
> admin mode and Server admin mode), but those modes are unrelated to connect vpnclient
> to vpnserver.
Thanks for your help. I had to create a new user by changing the mode and doing the initial config.

I was wondering though, in the SoftEther control panel, there is a setting labeled IPsec/L2TP Setting. I set a password for it and I checked off "Enable L2TP Server Function (L2TP over IPsec). Then I set a password for it, but it doesn't require me to enter that password, only the password I used to log-on to the server. How can I test that the data I send online is encrypted (I know very little about Wireshark).

naba78
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:53 pm
Location: nara, ja

Re: Can't connect to server

Post by naba78 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:16 pm

MastaChief11 wrote:
> Thanks for your help. I had to create a new user by changing the mode and doing the
> initial config.
>
> I was wondering though, in the SoftEther control panel, there is a setting labeled
> IPsec/L2TP Setting. I set a password for it and I checked off "Enable L2TP
> Server Function (L2TP over IPsec). Then I set a password for it, but it doesn't
> require me to enter that password, only the password I used to log-on to the server.
> How can I test that the data I send online is encrypted (I know very little about
> Wireshark).
I'm sorry my little English... What do you want to use client/protocol?

All SoftEther(PacketiX, UT-VPN) clients have an option to choose a Virtual HUB, but non-SoftEther clients don't have it.

The function compatible with non-softether protocol in vpnserver provide translation between non-SoftEther client and Virtual HUBs.
for example, this function provide a method to choose virtual hub via username, for L2TP over IPsec, non-encrypted L2TP, OpenVPN, MS-SSTP.
for example, if you want to use "EtherIP" or "L2TPv3 over IPsec", you need to set ISAKMP Phase 1 ID / Virtual HUB name / username + password to vpnserver.

The case which I tried, my android L2TP client don't get IP address from physical-DHCP server via Virtual HUB / L2 bridge. In this case, android L2TP client does display message encryption error.
If you have same problem, you able to use SecureNAT DHCP server.
https://www.softether.org/index.php?tit ... VPN_Server

MastaChief11
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:04 pm

Re: Can't connect to server

Post by MastaChief11 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:52 pm

naba78 wrote:
> MastaChief11 wrote:
> > Thanks for your help. I had to create a new user by changing the mode and doing
> the
> > initial config.
> >
> > I was wondering though, in the SoftEther control panel, there is a setting
> labeled
> > IPsec/L2TP Setting. I set a password for it and I checked off "Enable L2TP
> > Server Function (L2TP over IPsec). Then I set a password for it, but it doesn't
> > require me to enter that password, only the password I used to log-on to the
> server.
> > How can I test that the data I send online is encrypted (I know very little
> about
> > Wireshark).
> I'm sorry my little English... What do you want to use client/protocol?
>
> All SoftEther(PacketiX, UT-VPN) clients have an option to choose a Virtual HUB, but
> non-SoftEther clients don't have it.
>
> The function compatible with non-softether protocol in vpnserver provide translation
> between non-SoftEther client and Virtual HUBs.
> for example, this function provide a method to choose virtual hub via username, for
> L2TP over IPsec, non-encrypted L2TP, OpenVPN, MS-SSTP.
> for example, if you want to use "EtherIP" or "L2TPv3 over IPsec",
> you need to set ISAKMP Phase 1 ID / Virtual HUB name / username + password to
> vpnserver.

The case which I tried, my android L2TP client don't get IP address from
physical-DHCP server via Virtual HUB / L2 bridge. In this case, android L2TP client
does display message encryption error.
If you have same problem, you able to use SecureNAT DHCP server.

https://www.softether.org/index.php?tit ... VPN_Server
I have L2TP checked off, but I want to test to see if the connection is encrypted. It asked for a PSK (preshared key), which I set, but when I log-on, it doesn't ask for it. I want to be sure that the data I transmit is encrypted.

Google Translate:
私はL2TPオフチェックしてますが、私は、接続が暗号化されているかどうかをテストしたい。それは私が設定PSK(事前共有キー)を求めたが、私は、ログオンしたときに、それはそれを要求しません。私は、送信データが暗号化されていることを確認したい。

naba78
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:53 pm
Location: nara, ja

Re: Can't connect to server

Post by naba78 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 9:41 pm

Thank you for your supplementary explanation.

Do you want to see encrypted packets at Wireshark?
If your packets are encrypted(use L2TP/IPsec), I think you can look some protocol packets: ESP, ISAKMP
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

MastaChief11
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:04 pm

Re: Can't connect to server

Post by MastaChief11 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 11:00 pm

naba78 wrote:
> Thank you for your supplementary explanation.
>
> Do you want to see encrypted packets at Wireshark?
> If your packets are encrypted(use L2TP/IPsec), I think you can look some
> protocol packets: ESP, ISAKMP

I'm not sure if this is encrypted or not, it's tough to tell.

naba78
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:53 pm
Location: nara, ja

Re: Can't connect to server

Post by naba78 » Wed Jul 31, 2013 10:45 pm

I think that this packet you chose is non-encrypted and you chose the packet wrong.

Did you set proper filter at wireshark?
I showed to you example filter at images. (but, this may be insufficient in this case because I know very little wireshark, too...)

MastaChief11
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:04 pm

Re: Can't connect to server

Post by MastaChief11 » Thu Aug 01, 2013 6:03 pm

naba78 wrote:
> I think that this packet you chose is non-encrypted and you chose the
> packet wrong.
>
> Did you set proper filter at wireshark?
> I showed to you example filter at images. (but, this may be insufficient in
> this case because I know very little wireshark, too...)

This is an image I took on the server. Most of the packets on the client seem to be IPv6, so looking at it on the server makes it easier. I think that it is encrypted because it has SSL encrypted data in it. The packet I am looking at says "TLSv1" in it, and all of the packets that say that seem to be encrypted. The 192.168.1.132 is the server, and the 192.168.1.134 packets are from the client.

Google Translate:
これは私がサーバーで取ったイメージです。クライアント上のパケットのほとんどは、それが容易になりますので、サーバ上でそれを見て、IPv6のように見える。私はそれはそれでSSL暗号化されたデータを持っているので、それが暗号化されていると思います。私が探していたパケットは、その中に"TLSv1の"、および暗号化されたように見えると言うのパケットをすべて言う。 192.168.1.132はサーバであり、192.168.1.134パケットがクライアントからのものである。
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply