Using VoIP at a remote location

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
exeye

Using VoIP at a remote location

Post by exeye » Sat Jan 03, 2015 12:46 am

I'm new to all this and can't figure something out. Any guidance will be greatly appreciated.

What I'm trying to do is to connect to a small office LAN from a home computer. The catch is that the home's LAN has a VoIP phone on it that needs to be part of the small office VoIP network. In other words, the home computer needs to bridge at least some home-LAN traffic to/from the office LAN.

It seems to me that this could be done by running SoftEther Server on a computer on the office LAN, running SoftEther Client on the home computer, and adding a couple of routes to the home computer's routing table. But I don't know how to do this, or even whether it would be a good idea.

Alternatively I could put SoftEther Server on an office computer and SoftEther Bridge on the home computer, with the office network being 192.168.1.* and the home network being 192.168.2.* or something like that. This is where I get lost. Would it be preferable to have both networks be 192.168.1.* but with non-overlapping addresses? That would lead to both networks having gateways of 192.168.1.1, which I don't think would work. But if I use different network segments, what tells VoIP traffic to get routed to the other network segment instead of to the Internet? Do I need a netmask of 255.255.0.0 on the home network? What about there being two DHCP servers on the bridged network?

I'm trying to do this using a single physical network adapter on both machines. The networks are very fast and there won't be a lot of traffic. If necessary I can add a second network adapter to either or both machines.