Slow Download fast upload at home network

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
shervin

Slow Download fast upload at home network

Post by shervin » Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:49 am

Hey everyone
I'm not a professional in networking, but just an enthusiastic amateur.

Information: I have set up a softether VPN server (ver. 4.27) on a VPS. I'm using SSL/OpenVPN TCP and UDP protocol with different ports. (443, 1194, 501, 1202, etc.) I use openvpn client on different clients (Android, iPhone, Windows).
With my office and cellular internet everything works fine and the VPN tunnel does not significantly decrease my speed.
Recently I've changed my home ISP and got a PTP internet using MikroTik wireless radios and connect using PPPoE within my router (Linksys WRT1900ACS). My download and upload speed is equal and around 50~60 Mb/s.
I have tested a bunch of 3rd party VPN and proxies such as Cisco Anyconnect and Tunnel+ and SSL Proxy and they all work fine.

VPN Server has SecureNAT enabled.

Problem: When I try to connect to VPN it connects easily with both protocols (TCP and UDP) but then the download speed reaches nearly zero (around 0.2 Mb/s) but the upload speed is around 40~50 Mb/s. I have no problem connecting to VPN using my cellular internet and the speed is OK. I have tried different routers but the outcome is the same. What could be the cause?
My guess is it's either the ISP firewall that is blocking the traffic somehow or a problem with NAT/Routing etc.

I have tried UDP and TCP on different ports but the outcome is the same. Only when I try to connect with TCP 443 the connection drops every now and then and the log says something about keepalive_timeout error.

Please advice.

P.s. I have the same problem with Softether client for windows. Everything is fine elsewhere but on my home network I can't get good download speed.

mrc

Re: Slow Download fast upload at home network