Split Tunneling Not working

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
malikaqeel
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2019 2:24 pm

Split Tunneling Not working

Post by malikaqeel » Sun Apr 28, 2019 3:45 pm

I am unable to route my internet traffic through my LAN card, instead it goes through Softether Virtual VPN NIC despite I increased the metric of virtual adapter but it didn't help. Increasing metric routed my internet traffic to physical adapter/Wireless adapter but it stopped all communication to LAN over VPN although it's showing me connected to VPN.. but no communication to remote LAN over VPN.

I followed the official documentation while establishing the vpn.

1. My VPN server is a VM machine (OS Windows server 2012)
2. I enabled secure NAT under virtual nat and virtual secure DHCP options but disabled virtual hub dhcp to avoid conflict.
3. LAN Network subbnet: 192.168.1.0 /255.255.240.0 Gateway device IP 192.168.1.1 /255.255.240.0
4. IP assigned to client adapter. 192.168.30.11 /24 Gateway 192.168.30.1 (see the attached image)


Need your help.

Regards,
Malik
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

centeredki69
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: Split Tunneling Not working

Post by centeredki69 » Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:44 pm

ON the Client Machine
1. disconnect from the VPN server
2. Disable the physical NIC , WiFi NIC & Virtual "VPN" NIC
3. On your physical NIC ( not virtual NIC) uncheck automatic metric and set it to "1" and save
4. ON WiFi NIC uncheck automatic metric and set it to "5" and save
5. On the Virtual "VPN" NIC uncheck automatic metric and set it to " 10 " and save
6. Re-enable the physical NIC ( not virtual NIC) 1st. Then Re-enable the WiFi NIC ( leave disconnected if not in use). Last Re-enable Virtual "VPN" NIC.
7. Connect to the VPN.

centeredki69
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: Split Tunneling Not working

Post by centeredki69 » Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:51 pm

On the Server

The "virtual DHCP server" options will NOT cause a conflict as long as you do not have "SecureNAT" and a "local bridge" running on the same "Virtual HUB" at the same time. However a static assignment will work if the DHCP server is not needed.

Post Reply