SoftEther VPN Server migration from one server to another

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
COIN
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 8:00 am

SoftEther VPN Server migration from one server to another

Post by COIN » Thu Oct 13, 2016 8:09 am

Hello everyone,
i need to migrate SoftEther to another server. I have some user which are configured to autenticate with "certificate" and other with "user and password". I was wondering if there is a way to export configuration from server1 and import configuration on server2?

Any suggestion or work around would be appreciate.
Thanks in advance,

Luca.

moatazelmasry
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: SoftEther VPN Server migration from one server to anothe

Post by moatazelmasry » Mon Oct 17, 2016 4:07 pm

Hmmm I don't know of any automatic way of doing a migration, you will just have to install SoftEther on the new machine, then copy the following files/directories:

vpn_server.config
chain_certs/

COIN
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 8:00 am

Re: SoftEther VPN Server migration from one server to anothe

Post by COIN » Thu Oct 20, 2016 7:13 am

I will give it a try as soon as i can, because the two server are in production

moatazelmasry
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: SoftEther VPN Server migration from one server to anothe

Post by moatazelmasry » Thu Oct 20, 2016 12:02 pm

Then please experiment first in some lab environment before applying that to live servers

thisjun
Posts: 2458
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: SoftEther VPN Server migration from one server to anothe

Post by thisjun » Wed Nov 09, 2016 8:06 am

If you want to move DDNS name, you have to overwrite DDNS key in configuration after running destination VPN server.

rolee
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2020 4:55 pm

Re: SoftEther VPN Server migration from one server to anothe

Post by rolee » Thu Jun 18, 2020 7:22 am

moatazelmasry wrote:
Mon Oct 17, 2016 4:07 pm
Hmmm I don't know of any automatic way of doing a migration, you will just have to install SoftEther on the new machine, then copy the following files/directories:

vpn_server.config
chain_certs/
I tried this when I was migrating my VPN server to another separate host server to reduce on the load on the first host server. It worked perfectly well.
Thanks a lot

aboka
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:38 am

Re: SoftEther VPN Server migration from one server to another

Post by aboka » Sun Jun 21, 2020 8:37 am

hi, this is not an answer since others hv posted them earlier. this is more a sharing and hopefully someone could shed some light for me ;p

i hv tried migrating the server recently, i backup and restore hamcore.se2 as well. Most of the things works, but not everything. for eg. i hvto manually edit and change the Ddns in the config so the new server would change and use the old Ddns. But one thing i couldn't make it work is SSL certificates. So OpenVPN, SE and L2TP works just like before, but MS-SSTP wouldn't work....

the best i could do is backup and restore the cert using Server Manager(since there are nothing in the chain_certs folder), but it will say CN name is different and fail....

anyone could help?

cheers,

kisleini
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 3:47 pm

Re: SoftEther VPN Server migration from one server to another

Post by kisleini » Fri Jul 03, 2020 3:49 pm

aboka wrote:
Sun Jun 21, 2020 8:37 am
hi, this is not an answer since others hv posted them earlier. this is more a sharing and hopefully someone could shed some light for me ;p

i hv tried migrating the server recently, i backup and restore hamcore.se2 as well. Most of the things works, but not everything. for eg. i hvto manually edit and change the Ddns in the config so the new server would change and use the old Ddns. But one thing i couldn't make it work is SSL certificates. So OpenVPN, SE and L2TP works just like before, but MS-SSTP wouldn't work....

the best i could do is backup and restore the cert using Server Manager(since there are nothing in the chain_certs folder), but it will say CN name is different and fail....

anyone could help?

cheers,
Pretty cool and awesome.

Post Reply