Softether not working with Android 8.1 ? UPDATE: SOLVED ! see thread: "How do you update Softether to a newer version ?

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
GKL1520
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:00 pm

Softether not working with Android 8.1 ? UPDATE: SOLVED ! see thread: "How do you update Softether to a newer version ?

Post by GKL1520 » Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:49 am

I tried setting up a connection to Softether on my new Android phone following the directions given at: https://www.softether.org/4-docs/2-howt ... ient_Setup

but it keeps saying "unsuccessful" when I try to connect.

My previous phone was a Windows phone and I was able to successfully set up the VPN connection to Softether on that, I figured Android should work even as well being a more popular phone, but maybe there is an issue with Softether not being compatible with Android version 8.1 ?

Any ideas ?
Last edited by GKL1520 on Sun Jul 21, 2019 12:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

centeredki69
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: Softether not working with Android 8.1 ?

Post by centeredki69 » Sat Jul 20, 2019 2:36 pm

Is the Softether "SERVER" you are trying to connect to "yours" or is it a "VPN-GATE" server?

GKL1520
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:00 pm

Re: Softether not working with Android 8.1 ?

Post by GKL1520 » Sat Jul 20, 2019 3:22 pm

centeredki69 wrote:
Sat Jul 20, 2019 2:36 pm
Is the Softether "SERVER" you are trying to connect to "yours" or is it a "VPN-GATE" server?
Thanks for the reply, it is mine, I have an old laptop connected via ethernet cable that I use just for the Softether VPN so I don't check that computer that often but it was working fine to give me a needed VPN connection when I needed to remotely view my security cam via a data connection on my windows phone when away from home, just having a problem getting my new android phone to make that same connection.

New info I just discovered: when checking the VPN manager on that hardwired computer the server is on, it seems that the "Assigned Dynamic DNS Hostname" changed from what I had previously named it when first setting it up, it changed from the name I changed it to, to vpn followed by 9 numbers then .softether.net

Is that unusual for the server to change it on it's own ?

Should I change it back to what I had it or just use the new assigned hostname ?

centeredki69
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: Softether not working with Android 8.1 ?

Post by centeredki69 » Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:38 pm

You can use the new default one or choose a new one you prefer. You will NOT be able to put in the old original one because it will tell you it is already taken.
It should not have changed on its own. But a reinstall of the SE server software can cause this I believe. I have had it happen to me so just started using the default one given.

Put the NEW assigned dynamic domain name in the android and it should then find your SE VPN-Server.

GKL1520
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:00 pm

Re: Softether not working with Android 8.1 ?

Post by GKL1520 » Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:26 pm

centeredki69 wrote:
Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:38 pm
You can use the new default one or choose a new one you prefer. You will NOT be able to put in the old original one because it will tell you it is already taken.
It should not have changed on its own. But a reinstall of the SE server software can cause this I believe. I have had it happen to me so just started using the default one given.

Put the NEW assigned dynamic domain name in the android and it should then find your SE VPN-Server.
Thanks, I tried using the default hostname but connection is still unsuccessful, not sure what else the problem could be.

When I had opened the VPN manager for the first time in a long while I did notice the version was:

SoftEther VPN 4.0 (ver 4.24, Build 9651)

Checking the SoftEther web site that is not the latest version, I had thought the software would automatically update when a new version came out but I guess not.

Could having that older version be the problem with connecting to Android 8.1 (Oreo) or should it not make a difference with being able to connect ?

If so, how do I update the version since it does not do it automatically, there have been several updates since the one I have, does each one need to be added individually or does the latest update include the previous updates ?

GKL1520
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:00 pm

Re: Softether not working with Android 8.1 ?

Post by GKL1520 » Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:30 pm

centeredki69 wrote:
Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:38 pm
You can use the new default one or choose a new one you prefer. You will NOT be able to put in the old original one because it will tell you it is already taken.
It should not have changed on its own. But a reinstall of the SE server software can cause this I believe. I have had it happen to me so just started using the default one given.

Put the NEW assigned dynamic domain name in the android and it should then find your SE VPN-Server.
Using the NEW assigned dynamic domain name did not help, still would not connect.

ADDED NOTE to my previous reply:

https://www.softether.org/5-download/history

In the version history the very next update after the version I have says:

SoftEther VPN 4.24 Build 9652 Beta (December 21, 2017)
Fixed the bug which occurs the L2TP/IPsec connection error with Android Oreo on the Build 9647 and 9651.
Added the function to save the DNS query log on the packet logs.

........so would not having that update keep Android from connecting at all ?

centeredki69
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: Softether not working with Android 8.1 ?

Post by centeredki69 » Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:55 pm

Hello, Go to this link and choose the latest build. Download it to the PC/Laptop running the SE VPN server. Run the installer like any other install program. it should keep all your settings. Verify the Dynamic DNS is still the same. This might fix your issue.

https://www.softether-download.com/en.a ... =softether

"SoftEther VPN Server and VPN Bridge (Ver 4.30, Build 9696, beta)"

Post Reply