Page 1 of 1

AES-NI hardware support

Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:20 pm
by tomk30
My configuration : freebsd 11.3 , openssl-1.1.1f , softether-devel-4.34.9745.b . , i5-2500T
SE manager shows CPU AES-NI acceleration : no
Why SE no detect cpu AES-NI ?


Second question :
I would like restrict connected vpn client to not go beyond my gateway so try - Manage access List - discard destination IP ,but seems to not work.


Regards
Tmk

Re: AES-NI hardware support

Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2020 5:21 pm
by Snoopyandcharles
if using virtual nat. delete default gate way. and use static routes

Re: AES-NI hardware support

Posted: Sat May 09, 2020 6:43 pm
by ziddey
seeing the same here. /proc/cpuinfo shows aes flag but softether shows aes-ni active is no

Re: AES-NI hardware support

Posted: Mon May 25, 2020 4:44 am
by drkrool
Are you in a VM or on physical machine?

I'm on physical fedora server and mine is shown as "yes"

Re: AES-NI hardware support

Posted: Mon May 25, 2020 4:50 am
by ziddey
drkrool wrote:
Mon May 25, 2020 4:44 am
Are you in a VM or on physical machine?

I'm on physical fedora server and mine is shown as "yes"
LXC. Switched to using softether5 and now it's showing "CPU AES Acceleration (AES-NI) is Active" as "Yes" :)

Re: AES-NI hardware support

Posted: Mon May 25, 2020 5:01 am
by drkrool
ziddey wrote:
Mon May 25, 2020 4:50 am
drkrool wrote:
Mon May 25, 2020 4:44 am
Are you in a VM or on physical machine?

I'm on physical fedora server and mine is shown as "yes"
LXC. Switched to using softether5 and now it's showing "CPU AES Acceleration (AES-NI) is Active" as "Yes" :)
Great news. Just wondering, where do I find theses "beta" downloads please? Thanks!

Re: AES-NI hardware support

Posted: Mon May 25, 2020 5:13 am
by ziddey

Re: AES-NI hardware support

Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 2:29 am
by drkrool
Just adding to this post that I have the same problem on my pfsense (FreeBSD), AES-NI is supported and activated but Softether says "no" to it's availability check

Haven't tried the softether 5 server on it yet