"Double" VPN with Softether?

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
sunxpert
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:18 am

"Double" VPN with Softether?

Post by sunxpert » Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:24 am

Hi all,

I want to make a "double" VPN with Softether. The goal is to have entry node IP different from exit node IP. I have 2 VPS machines running. I have installed softeher on one of them and it works fine as a regular VPN. What do I do next? Does Cascading between VPN HUB and VPN Bridge solves my problem?

Another option I have in mind is setting up SOCKS server(shadowsocks?) on 2nd VPS and routing all traffic from 1st VPS to socks5 on 2nd, but I'm not sure how to accomplish that.

Please advice.

Regards.

moatazelmasry
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: "Double" VPN with Softether?

Post by moatazelmasry » Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:00 pm

May I ask what are you trying to achieve exactly?

sunxpert
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:18 am

Re: "Double" VPN with Softether?

Post by sunxpert » Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:23 pm

moatazelmasry wrote:
> May I ask what are you trying to achieve exactly?

Multihop VPN connection. Where the entry point(where I connect) is different from exit node(my public IP).
So, like this

Client -> VPN1(IP1) ->VPN2(IP2) ->Internet

Hope that makes it clear.

sunxpert
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:18 am

Re: "Double" VPN with Softether?

Post by sunxpert » Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:50 pm

So far the solution I found is the following:

1. VPS1 and VPS2 both have SoftEther VPNs Servers running with SecureNAT(DHCP&NAT-T) enabled on both systems.
2. VPS2-->Cascade Connection-->VPS1.
3. VPS2 SecureNAT default gateway is set to VPS1's default gateway.

This way my entry node is VPS2 which is routed to VPS1 via default gateway setting.

Is is the proper way of setting things up?:) Doubt it.

Let me know what you think.

mask
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:45 am

Re: "Double" VPN with Softether?

Post by mask » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:51 am

sunxpert wrote:
Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:50 pm
So far the solution I found is the following:

1. VPS1 and VPS2 both have SoftEther VPNs Servers running with SecureNAT(DHCP&NAT-T) enabled on both systems.
2. VPS2-->Cascade Connection-->VPS1.
3. VPS2 SecureNAT default gateway is set to VPS1's default gateway.

This way my entry node is VPS2 which is routed to VPS1 via default gateway setting.
Did you succeed with this configuration?

sky59
Posts: 222
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: "Double" VPN with Softether?

Post by sky59 » Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:57 pm

sunxpert wrote:
Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:23 pm
moatazelmasry wrote:
> May I ask what are you trying to achieve exactly?

Multihop VPN connection. Where the entry point(where I connect) is different from exit node(my public IP).
So, like this

Client -> VPN1(IP1) ->VPN2(IP2) ->Internet

Hope that makes it clear.
Where is the server for vpn?! What are vpn1 vpn2? Where do they connect? To which servers?

Post Reply