after reinstall dynamic hostname not working

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
sevuf
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:46 pm

after reinstall dynamic hostname not working

Post by sevuf » Thu Aug 23, 2018 12:02 am

After reinstallation of softether I wanted to use the same registered hostname but I can't because it shows the message that the hostname already exists. So perhaps I forgot to save the dns key from the server config.file. Is there a way to delete a registered hostname to reuse it again (delete abc.softether.net and after that reassign abc.softether.net). Or can one get the forgotten dns key back?

plentyoftimeto69
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: after reinstall dynamic hostname not working

Post by plentyoftimeto69 » Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:32 pm

I'd be interested in knowing this as well since I accidentally smoked my config during an upgrade.

cedar
Site Admin
Posts: 1141
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 5:37 am

Re: after reinstall dynamic hostname not working

Post by cedar » Thu Aug 30, 2018 6:08 am

When the host name has changed since the last time VPN server was started, the VPN server regards the configuration file as being copied and regenerates the DDNS name.
To restore the DDNS name, copy the DDNS Key field from the old configuration file.

Hade
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:31 pm

Re: after reinstall dynamic hostname not working

Post by Hade » Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:45 pm

Same case for me.

Post Reply