how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
mfran2002
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:26 pm

how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by mfran2002 » Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:44 pm

Hi there,
I would like to estabilish a VPN with my PC at home, when I'm away (holiday, work...) and using another laptop

My provider at home uses NAT and I didn't buy from them a static IP
When I'm away from home I will use my laptop, the line given from my smartphone as hotspot

I've already installed "softether" both on my home PC (server) and laptop (client)

I'm a real beginner and just to verify that my job was formally correct, I tried to raise the VPN from inside my home LAN (both PC and laptop then into the same LAN), and it worked!

then, if I move the laptop behind the smartphone hotspot (simulating the normal use), it does not work anymore...

May someone help me?
thanks!

sky59
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by sky59 » Thu Jun 18, 2020 6:57 pm

It can not work without public ip

Alternative, slow one, is to use azure provided by softether

mfran2002
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:26 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by mfran2002 » Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:56 am

do you mean a "static" public IP?

for me no problem if slow, may you please tell me how to go through azure?
Indeed in my installation and configuration I see azure url...

thanks

sky59
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by sky59 » Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:16 am

mfran2002 wrote:
Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:56 am
do you mean a "static" public IP?

for me no problem if slow, may you please tell me how to go through azure?
Indeed in my installation and configuration I see azure url...

thanks
static is not neccessary, ISP can change after every router reboot your IP, but it must be unique - must be public
SE has got inside the code already procedure to update IP after change (DDNS)

you just write ...........azure.......... instead of ............softether...........

mfran2002
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:26 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by mfran2002 » Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:29 am

ok, excuse me sky59 for the stupid questions
I'm a real beginner fo this stuff...

I read the softether manual about vpnazure and I still have some issues

I tried to connect from softether VPN client (port 443 is right?) or simply when I try to connect creating a new network connection from windows but I'm not able yet

from VPN client: it connects (validates username and requests IP to dhcp server) but when I check if it is really connected I see "disconnected" and no packets received (see the picture 1)

instead, when I try to connect after having created a new network connection from windows it gets me error "PPP protocol error" (see the picture 2)

argh!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mfran2002
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:26 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by mfran2002 » Fri Jun 19, 2020 12:43 pm

I just tried completely reinstalling VPN server and client with the same unsuccessful results

I strictly and severely followed this procedure:

http://vpnazure.net/en/

but my result is the same: the VPN Client conection become "connected" (only if I choose the port 443, no way for the others...) but if I check if it is really on, I see that it isn't really

for example, iduring connection it ask and receive the IP from DHCP server in the VPN, but the IP assigned is not on the private network of the VPN Server...

summarizing:
my "VPN server" is at home behind my ISP
my VPN client is behind my smartphone as hotspot

please help me to solve this issue
thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

sky59
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by sky59 » Fri Jun 19, 2020 1:00 pm

You are connected, i have no idea what problem you have there..

Do you have local bridge established on server?!

mfran2002
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:26 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by mfran2002 » Fri Jun 19, 2020 1:12 pm

thank you sky59 for your suggestion

I exactly followed that procedure and I think a bridge was installed

see the picture

PS: the port 443 is ok?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

sky59
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by sky59 » Fri Jun 19, 2020 3:31 pm

Is Realtec controller connected to the network you want to access?

mfran2002
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:26 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by mfran2002 » Fri Jun 19, 2020 4:24 pm

ops... really sorry for this mistake

it works!

I don't understand why it doesn't work unless with azure

sky59
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by sky59 » Fri Jun 19, 2020 4:28 pm

Try bandwidthplace.com what is the speed

mfran2002
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:26 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by mfran2002 » Fri Jun 19, 2020 4:48 pm

well...not properly fast...

Download: 1.12Mbps
Upload: 1.24Mbps
Ping: 646ms

anyway you are my god, mate! THANKS!

do you think there is some possibility to let it work without azure?

sky59
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by sky59 » Fri Jun 19, 2020 5:02 pm

Yes, to use your own public ip address

mfran2002
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:26 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by mfran2002 » Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:54 am

yes, I suppose this is the only way

I have to ask my ISP how much it costs a static public ip...

thanks for your excellent support, really /appreciate

sky59
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by sky59 » Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:26 am

Happy to help

Does not need to be static

If you have DSL or ADSL just log into the router and have a look what is the ip, it is likely already public

Then you only need port forward 443

mfran2002
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:26 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by mfran2002 » Sat Jun 20, 2020 1:49 pm

ah ok, thanks for clarifying

I already have a dynamic public IP, but my ISP days it is not reachable from external
I verified that unfortunately it is, I already tried to reach my LAN with port forwarding (as well as I do in office) but I have no chance

indeed they confirmed me that the only way is to buy a static IP

I tried before with openVPN and now with softether

via azure is the first time I'm able to come in!

ongkinet
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2020 1:09 am

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by ongkinet » Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:00 am

Softether server can work behind NAT, it is not mandatory for you to get Public IP as long as you use Softether VPN Client software to setup the VPN connection.
In case you dont use Softether VPN Client, IP Public is mandatory for your server side but you dont need Static IP since Softether have it's own dynamic DNS feature (you can use xxxx.softether.net domain instead of your public IP address). Or you can enable vpnazure and connect with SSTP instead of L2TP/IPsec protocol, dont forget that the domain of your server should be xxxx.vpnazure.net not xxxx.softether.net

sky59
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: how to create a VPN with home if ISP NAT

Post by sky59 » Sun Jun 28, 2020 5:54 am

ongkinet wrote:
Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:00 am
Softether server can work behind NAT, it is not mandatory for you to get Public IP
NO


Another option is to use azure server at university - it has got public ip

Post Reply