improve performance

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
desperados
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 10:15 am

improve performance

Post by desperados » Tue Jan 01, 2019 9:21 am

i've some trouble with vpn.... it's very slow, using kde neon as client and bot l2tp/ipsec and openvpn protocols

these are output of ifconfig when connected:

L2TP/IPSec

Code: Select all

ppp0: flags=4305<UP,POINTOPOINT,RUNNING,NOARP,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.10.162  netmask 255.255.255.255  destination 1.0.0.1
        ppp  txqueuelen 3  (Point-to-Point Protocol)
        RX packets 28  bytes 4914 (4.9 KB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 50  bytes 7176 (7.1 KB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
OpenVPN

Code: Select all

tun0: flags=4305<UP,POINTOPOINT,RUNNING,NOARP,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.10.173  netmask 255.255.255.255  destination 192.168.10.174
        unspec 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  txqueuelen 100  (UNSPEC)
        RX packets 60  bytes 20851 (20.8 KB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 110  bytes 19472 (19.4 KB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
I've an Endian firewall, so I configured it for using its OpenVPN protocol, and it's faster then using SoftEther

Code: Select all

tap0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.10.191  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.10.255
        ether ee:49:36:21:d4:cd  txqueuelen 100  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 67  bytes 8520 (8.5 KB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 11  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 32  bytes 3080 (3.0 KB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
both OpenVPN are configured to use UDP protocol
what can i check to try to understand why SoftEther is slower then Endian and fix?
thanks

desperados
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 10:15 am

Re: improve performance

Post by desperados » Tue Jan 01, 2019 9:54 am

SoftEther is installed in a VM, so I've tried to enable promiscuous mode, but with no success:
https://support.citrix.com/article/CTX121729

desperados
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 10:15 am

Re: improve performance

Post by desperados » Wed Jan 02, 2019 2:44 pm

security log:

Code: Select all

2019-01-02 13:56:29.892 Session "SID-MIATELLO.MAURO-[L2TP]-15": The parameter has been set. Max number of TCP connections: 1, Use of encryption: Yes, Use of compression: No, Use of Half duplex communication: No, Timeout: 20 seconds.

desperados
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 10:15 am

Re: improve performance

Post by desperados » Wed Jan 02, 2019 2:56 pm

endian has comp-lzo option, if I try to use it in softether I've:

Code: Select all

Wed Jan  2 15:55:23 2019 Bad LZO decompression header byte: 42
Wed Jan  2 15:55:23 2019 Bad LZO decompression header byte: 69
Wed Jan  2 15:55:23 2019 Bad LZO decompression header byte: 69
Wed Jan  2 15:55:23 2019 Bad LZO decompression header byte: 69
Wed Jan  2 15:55:23 2019 Bad LZO decompression header byte: 69
Wed Jan  2 15:55:24 2019 Bad LZO decompression header byte: 69

sky59
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: improve performance

Post by sky59 » Thu Jan 03, 2019 2:22 am

You provided here a lot of printsrceens but i do not see any showing it is slow

Do you also read other threads over here? Have you tried tun ?

desperados
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 10:15 am

Re: improve performance

Post by desperados » Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:29 am

hi
yes, i've read many other threads, i've also replied in one of them
do you mean try to make a bridge between eth0 and tun? I dont know how to do, I've tried but hanged my VM
thanks

sky59
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: improve performance

Post by sky59 » Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:35 am

Yes,
In neighbouring thread someone claims performance increased while bridging through 'tun' softether device

I am at this moment in thailand so i do not want to play with my servet in europe now :)

But I did use also bridging over tun but did not noticed improvement as i did not focus on it

In SE do not local bridge directly to eth0 or wlan0, but create "tun", local bridge tun with SE hub

In my case i use openwrt system so i have it easy: /do not know your system/
I login into graphical GUI and i bridge tun with eth0 or wlan0


So instead: SE hub ---- eth0/wlan0 it is like this: SE hub --- tun ---- eth0/wlan0

I have no idea why it should be better i also raised question in neigbouring thread but no answer

Now it is your turn to test it and confirm/refuse :) please inform about results

desperados
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 10:15 am

Re: improve performance

Post by desperados » Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:33 pm

can you put your /etc/config/network in openwrt? thanks

desperados
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 10:15 am

Re: improve performance

Post by desperados » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:17 pm

this is my /etc/network/interfaces in my debian:

Code: Select all

auto lo
auto lo br0
iface lo inet loopback

iface eth0 inet manual

iface br0 inet static
       bridge_ports eth0 tap_tap0
               address 192.168.10.19
               broadcast 192.168.10.255
               netmask 255.255.255.0
               network 192.168.10.0
               gateway 192.168.10.254
and it works, but when connecting SE says that i've not dhcp
I've tried with securenat also but no success
however, ping is over 2000ms so i dont think this is the problem
i've reconfigured as before, and I've noticed that my ping is about 20ms (very good!), and i browser website in my lan very fast, the problem seems only with RDP sessions!
I'll try to investigate more next days

desperados
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 10:15 am

Re: improve performance

Post by desperados » Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:13 pm

i've found this: viewtopic.php?t=2281
i'll try later

desperados
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 10:15 am

Re: improve performance

Post by desperados » Sun Jan 06, 2019 1:59 pm

i've solved moving to windows server
i really dont understand why.... all ok until 2 weeks ago
i've tried to move to another physical linux machine, with ubuntu 16 and kernel 4.4.0 but still very slow
moved to windows, same configuration (i've exported and imported), all fast again

Post Reply