DHCP (down) question

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
gingerr6
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 4:02 pm

DHCP (down) question

Post by gingerr6 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:50 pm

HI,

so i have the VPN connecting and getting a IP from DHCP, my questions is can i static the IP when the DHCP server cannot be reached?

i have tried the usual in the network config on my local WIN10 VPN Network adapter but it then wont pass traffic?

Am i missing something?

Cheers James.

centeredki69
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: DHCP (down) question

Post by centeredki69 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:20 pm

Are you connecting with the SE VPN client?

Why would the DHCP server not be reached?

I just tried this by adding the static information into the "VPN-Client network adapter" and it functions fine.
Make sure you input the remote gateway IP address not the local gateway.

gingerr6
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 4:02 pm

Re: DHCP (down) question

Post by gingerr6 » Thu Jan 03, 2019 9:03 pm

Hi,

so i have a backup device that i can recover the VM'S on if the main serves die.

so in this case the DHCP server would be down.

i tried adding the static ip before but it didn't work, i just tried again and it worked :)

Post Reply