I have DNS leak

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
Gerard1
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 10:49 am

I have DNS leak

Post by Gerard1 » Wed May 27, 2020 2:16 pm

Hello, i have server linux ubuntu in different country.
When im connecting from my PC (Win 10) using the Ethernet cable all ok. I have DNS of the VPN server.
But when im connecting from my laptop (Win 10) through Wi-Fi I am watching DNS leak, the website show my Wi-Fi DNS.
Same problem with DNS on Win 7 Wi-Fi.
Both connections was checked with SE VPN client, using 5555 port.

How can i fix the problem? Can you help me plese

Gerard1
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 10:49 am

Re: I have DNS leak

Post by Gerard1 » Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:39 pm

bump thread

Gerard1
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 10:49 am

Re: I have DNS leak

Post by Gerard1 » Sat Jun 13, 2020 12:04 am

nobody knows?

sky59
Posts: 326
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: I have DNS leak

Post by sky59 » Sat Jun 13, 2020 4:24 am

What is it "dns leak"?

Gerard1
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 10:49 am

Re: I have DNS leak

Post by Gerard1 » Sun Jun 21, 2020 4:40 pm

sky59 wrote:
Sat Jun 13, 2020 4:24 am
What is it "dns leak"?
you can check your dns on website https://whoer.net/
the problem is websites can see my real DNS.
look at screenshot
10.jpg
Netherland DNS which you can see this is my real DNS.
and under it Czech DNS -> this is DNS of VPN server which i connected to.

I don’t want the site to be able to track my real DNS
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

sky59
Posts: 326
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: I have DNS leak

Post by sky59 » Sun Jun 21, 2020 7:41 pm

Co blaznis? IP adresu mas skrytu a DNS nie je tvoje, to je pocitac co konvertuje adresu www...... na IP

aboka
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:38 am

Re: I have DNS leak

Post by aboka » Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:27 am

Hv you check your wifi adapter's ip settings? since using network cable is ok

Gerard1
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 10:49 am

Re: I have DNS leak

Post by Gerard1 » Thu Jun 25, 2020 9:29 pm

sky59 wrote:
Sun Jun 21, 2020 7:41 pm
Co blaznis? IP adresu mas skrytu a DNS nie je tvoje, to je pocitac co konvertuje adresu www...... na IP
i don't understand ur language.
aboka wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:27 am
Hv you check your wifi adapter's ip settings? since using network cable is ok
What exactly should i check in my wi-fi settings? And I think the problem is not my wifi configuration. I connected from different places and devices. DNS leak remains.

aboka
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:38 am

Re: I have DNS leak

Post by aboka » Wed Jul 01, 2020 8:53 am

aboka wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:27 am
Hv you check your wifi adapter's ip settings? since using network cable is ok
What exactly should i check in my wi-fi settings? And I think the problem is not my wifi configuration. I connected from different places and devices. DNS leak remains.
[/quote]

you may use your wifi in different locations, and it will still works if your fix IP is the same as the router's IP.

check whether you are using Fix or Dynamic IP inside your connection - Wireless Network Connection - Properties - Internet Protocol Version 4(TCP/IPv4).

if its using Obtain an IP address automatically then you hv other issue, but if its using Fix IP, then change it to Obtain and see if it works

good luck,

occultime
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:10 am

Re: I have DNS leak

Post by occultime » Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:24 am

change your dns servers to google in wifi adapter setting and in your vpn adapter setting.
you need to change few settings in browser to encrypt dns traffic
which browser are you using?
let me know plz.

Gerard1
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 10:49 am

Re: I have DNS leak

Post by Gerard1 » Mon Jul 13, 2020 5:34 am

occultime wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:24 am
change your dns servers to google in wifi adapter
i cannot ask every my client change their wifi settings.

i cheked dns leak test on chrome, opera and firefox. the same problem everywhere.

i don' know what should i do. is this problem SE server?

sky59
Posts: 326
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:58 pm

Re: I have DNS leak

Post by sky59 » Mon Jul 13, 2020 6:01 am

Gerard1 wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 5:34 am
occultime wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:24 am
change your dns servers to google in wifi adapter
i cannot ask every my client change their wifi settings.

i cheked dns leak test on chrome, opera and firefox. the same problem everywhere.

i don' know what should i do. is this problem SE server?
I think you have another path to internet from client computer when running as SE client, check iproute tables

but this would be a problem at every client, SE server can not block this

or evey client keeps in cache somewhere all routes from the past, especially if you connect-disconnect from VPN, I had similar problem unless
I flushed cache every time I connected to the VPN

are clients permanently on VPN?

Post Reply